This STUFF has got to go!

This is a Journal of my struggle to control all the STUFF that finds it's way into my home. I don't want to be the "keep this for me" person anymore!

Compulsive hoarder or creative crafter?


I see value in just about everything someone else would throw away.  Things like pieces of string, cereal bags, seams cut from clothing for memory quilts, cardboard boxes of every size and shape, fabric scraps, buttons, rubber bands, glass and plastic jars, candy wrappers, shredded paper, restaurant condiment cups, and on and on.  I find all kinds of interesting throw away items.  That’s my problem!

I see value in these things because I am a crafter and because I have limited funds to purchase craft items when I need them.   Ok, not just the purchase of craft supplies.  I also have limited funds to purchase things to make my house a home.  I have countless craft ideas in my head for recycled items.  In all honesty, I don’t need to shop at a craft store for supplies because I can simply look through trash bins and come up with a dozen things to make.

I’m talking about useful things I would use around my house if I could get the items actually made.  Here’s an example.  It’s supposed to be a thread cabinet for storing quilting threads in my studio.  Or maybe I’ll change it to become a small chest to store something else.  I’m still debating it’s final purpose.

Thread cabinet made from cardboard is still under construction

Here’s another example of a cardboard craft item I would use if it ever gets finished.  It’s a desk being made to fit a particular area in my studio.  It’s being made in separate parts for easy moving when needed in the future.  See the cardboard pieces in the box on top?  Those are pieces for the legs and parts of the organizer cubbies I’ll build for the top.  Right now I have drawers in the pieces but those could be removed to become shelves instead.

Future computer desk being made from cardboard boxes.

A big part of my hoarding problem is keeping STUFF for future craft projects.  I keep STUFF because it takes me a long time to collect the correct number of pieces required to get a craft idea from my head into a finished art form.  For example; cardboard boxes.  I keep many cardboard boxes because I see them as potentially the perfect piece for a part of a furniture item I want to create.  Why make cardboard furniture?  Money of course.  Limited funds means limited furniture purchasing power.  Even thrift store prices are too expensive.  Making cardboard furniture fills a need for me.  I can be creative while making something useful.  Isn’t that what all craft people do?

So how do I balance my need to create with my desire to have a sparsely filled home?  How do I save items for future craft or art projects without filling my home with garbage?  No.  I’m not one of those extreme hoarders you see on TV.  I have no problem throwing away food before it grows into rainbow colors.  I wouldn’t dream of letting little creepy critters start living in my house with me either.  I do keep the kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, and quilt studio fairly clean between quilt deadlines.  I tend to neglect house cleaning when there are customer and contest quilt deadlines looming but as soon as the deadlines pass you’ll find me cleaning house and preparing for the next deadline.

Well, over the course of the next few months, I hope to share with you how I rid myself of all the extra stuff in my life.  Providing of course that I’m successful.

2 comments on “Compulsive hoarder or creative crafter?

  1. Can’t wait to see the progress! I have an organizing blog and I’m always interested in other people’s journeys!
    ~Erin
    Neaten Your Nest

    • Na Na
      August 28, 2012

      Hi Erin, glad you stopped by my blog. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2012 by in STUFF HAPPENS and tagged , , , , .

Started Sept 1, 2012

  • 1,936 Visitors

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

August 2012
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
